|

Modeling an SDR receiver in MATLAB and its implementation on Altera DE2-115

Authors: Amjad A.A.
Published in issue: #4(57)/2021
DOI: 10.18698/2541-8009-2021-4-686


Category: Informatics, Computer Engineering and Control | Chapter: System Analysis, Control, and Information Processing

Keywords: software Defined Radio (SDR), null-IF architecture, Altera DE2-115, NCO-controlled harmonic generator, CIC filter, FIR filter, analog-to-digital converter, ADA-HSMC
Published: 19.04.2021

Software-defined radio (SDR) is a programmable transceiver that can work with a variety of wireless protocols without the need for hardware changes or upgrades. Advances in SDR have led to an escalation in protocol development and a wide range of applications with a greater emphasis on programmability, flexibility, mobility and energy efficiency in cellular, Wi-Fi and M2M communications. Consequently, the SDR system has received a lot of attention and is of great importance for both academia and industry. The SDR developers intend to simplify the implementation of communication protocols, allowing researchers to experiment with prototypes in deployed networks. This article provides an overview of SDR and introduces a zero-IF architecture. After that, the simulation of the zero-IF architecture was performed in the MATLAB environment and its implementation on the Altera DE2-115 platform was presented.


References

[1] Lalge A.M., Karpe M.S., Bhandari S.U. Software defined radio principles and platforms. IJACR, 2013, vol. 3, no. 11, pp. 2–3.

[2] DRF cognitive radio definitions. Working document SDRF-06-R-0011-V1.0.0. IEEE, 2007.

[3] Vorob’yev O.V., Fokin G.A. [Radio communication systems model based design via software defined radio]. V Mezhd. nauch.-tekh. i nauchnometodich. konf. Aktual’nye problemy infotelekommunikatsiy v nauke i obrazovanii. T. 2 [V Int. Sci.-Tech. and Methodological Conf. Vol. 2]. Sankt-Petersburg, SPbGUT Publ., 2016, pp. 280−284 (in Russ.).

[4] Fokin G.A. Principles and technologies of digital communication based on software defined radio: a review of modern trends in the field of creating a curricculum. Trudy uchebnykh zavedeniy svyazi [Proceedings of Telecommunication Universities], 2019, vol. 5, no. 1, pp. 78–94. DOI: https://doi.org/10.31854/1813-324X-2019-5-1-78-94 (in Russ.).

[5] Razavi B. Design considerations for direct-conversion receivers. IEEE Trans. Circuits Syst. II Analog Digit. Signal Process., 1997, vol. 44, no. 6, pp. 428–435. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/82.592569

[6] Abidi A.A. Direct-conversion radio transceivers for digital communications. IEEE J. Solid-State Circuits, 1995, vol. 30, no. 12, pp. 1399–1410. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/ISSCC.1995.535515

[7] Rouphael T.J. Wireless receiver architectures and design. Academic Press, 2014.

[8] Bourdoux A., Craninckx J., Dejonghe A., et al. Receiver architectures for software-defined radios in mobile terminals: the path to cognitive radios. IEEE Radio Wirel. Symp., 2007, pp. 535–538. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/RWS.2007.351886

[9] Understanding CIC compensation filters. Application Note 455. Altera corp., 2007.

[10] FIR Compiler II. User Guide. Altera corp., 2014.

|

Моделирование приемника SDR в среде MATLAB и его реализация на Altera DE2-115

Авторы: Амджад А.А.
Опубликовано в выпуске: #4(57)/2021
DOI: 10.18698/2541-8009-2021-4-686


Раздел: Информатика, вычислительная техника и управление | Рубрика: Системный анализ, управление и обработка информации

Ключевые слова: программно-определяемая радиосистема (SDR), архитектура нуль-ПЧ, Altera DE2-115, NCO- управляемый гармонический генератор, CIC-фильтр, FIR-фильтр, аналого-цифровой преобразователь, ADA-HSMC

Опубликовано: 19.04.2021

Программно-определяемая радиосистема (Software-defined radio — SDR) представляет собой программируемый приемопередатчик, обладающий возможностью работы с различными протоколами беспроводной связи без необходимости изменения или обновления аппаратного обеспечения. Прогресс в области SDR привел к эскалации разработки протоколов и широкому спектру приложений с большим акцентом на программируемость, гибкость, мобильность и энергоэффективность в сотовой связи, Wi-Fi и M2M-связи. Следовательно, система SDR заслужила большое внимание и имеет большое значение как для научных кругов, так и для промышленности. Разработчики SDR намерены упростить реализацию коммуникационных протоколов, позволяя исследователям экспериментировать с прототипами в развернутых сетях. В этой статье выполнен обзор SDR, а затем представлена архитектура с нулевой промежуточной частотой (архитектура нуль-ПЧ). После этого выполнено моделирование архитектуры нуль-ПЧ в среде MATLAB и представлена ее реализация на платформе Altera DE2-115.


Литература

[1] Lalge A.M., Karpe M.S., Bhandari S.U. Software defined radio principles and platforms. IJACR, 2013, vol. 3, no. 11, pp. 2–3.

[2] DRF cognitive radio definitions. Working document SDRF-06-R-0011-V1.0.0. IEEE, 2007.

[3] Воробьев О.В., Фокин Г.А. Проект учебно-методического комплекса «Модельно-ориентированное проектирование систем радиосвязи на основе программно-конфигурируемого радио». V Межд. науч.-тех. и научнометодич. конф. Актуальные проблемы инфотелекоммуникаций в науке и образовании. Т. 2. СПб., СПбГУТ, 2016, с. 280−284.

[4] Фокин Г.А. Принципы и технологии цифровой связи на основе программноконфигурируемого радио: обзор современных тенденций в области создания комплекса подготовки специалистов. Труды учебных заведений связи, 2019, т. 5, № 1, с. 78–94. DOI: https://doi.org/10.31854/1813-324X-2019-5-1-78-94

[5] Razavi B. Design considerations for direct-conversion receivers. IEEE Trans. Circuits Syst. II Analog Digit. Signal Process., 1997, vol. 44, no. 6, pp. 428–435. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/82.592569

[6] Abidi A.A. Direct-conversion radio transceivers for digital communications. IEEE J. Solid-State Circuits, 1995, vol. 30, no. 12, pp. 1399–1410. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/ISSCC.1995.535515

[7] Rouphael T.J. Wireless receiver architectures and design. Academic Press, 2014.

[8] Bourdoux A., Craninckx J., Dejonghe A., et al. Receiver architectures for software-defined radios in mobile terminals: the path to cognitive radios. IEEE Radio Wirel. Symp., 2007, pp. 535–538. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1109/RWS.2007.351886

[9] Understanding CIC compensation filters. Application Note 455. Altera corp., 2007.

[10] FIR Compiler II. User Guide. Altera corp., 2014.